The Way Back, a review by Cat

posted in: Cat | 0

💙💙💙💙

The Way Back
Gavriel Savit
Published November 17th, 2020
By Knopf Books for Young Readers
368 Pages
Find it on Goodreads.

Before The Way Back, I had never read anything by Gavriel Savit. However, the description on Goodreads (that it is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman) was really all I needed to tempt me into giving this read a try. It was a worthwhile read, and I am so glad that I took a literary risk here.

 

Demons are everywhere, that much is known. While they have their own land, part of the world of the dead, they love nothing more than to find their way into the land of the living. So when a wedding occurs that invites everyone – no exceptions, you better believe they’re ready to take advantage of it.

 

Enter Yehuda Leib and Bluma. Two young people from the same town, but with very different lives. Yet somehow, they have found themselves in eerily similar situations. Now they have to find a way back together – ideally while staying alive.

 

Honestly, I cannot get over how enchanting this world was. Even after a few days, it feels like this world is stuck in my head. Or perhaps it is the other way around? Either way, it’s a world and tale well worth diving into.

 

The Way Back is so richly detailed and full of folklore, while providing some truly unique insight and perspectives. I really enjoyed both Yehuda Leib and Bluma’s individual journeys. I can see why people have been talking so much about this novel, and couldn’t agree more. This is a novel I’d recommend for any teenager or adult looking for a fantastical world full of love, life, death, and so very much more.

 

Sharing is caring!