The Rebound by Catherine Walsh

posted in: blog tour, Kendra | 0

 

 

 

The Rebound

Catherine Walsh

334 pages

Published by Bookouture

Get your copy here AmazonAppleKoboGoogleGoodreads

 

Synopsis:  

A newly single girl. A tall dark handsome stranger. What could go wrong?

It’s 7 a.m. on a Monday morning and Abby Reynolds isn’t where she wants to be. She wants to be in her beautiful loft apartment in Manhattan, drinking a coffee with her fiancé.

Instead, she’s heading back to the childhood home in rural Ireland she swore she’d never return to, with some big old secrets. Namely that she’s suddenly found herself unemployed, homeless, and absolutely 100% single.

She’s feeling all out of luck. Until the first person she meets after she touches down is an absurdly hot guy called Luke, who offers her a lift home. Gazing deep into his sparkling emerald-green eyes, Abby knows instantly that he’s exactly what she needs to take her mind off everything. The perfect rebound.

It’s a flawless plan. Until the next day, when Abby realizes who he actually is. Not just a stranger. He is, in fact, Luke Bailey, aka the boy next door. Luke Bailey who—so help her God—she’s pretty sure she once shared baths with, back when they were kids. Not that she can allow herself to imagine him in a bath now, not without blushing from head to foot.

And judging by the smirk on his face, the same Luke Bailey who’s known exactly who she was the whole time… And who, like everyone in the village, still thinks she’s a high-flying New Yorker… who’s getting married next year.

Abby is certain getting under Luke will help her get over her ex. But the truth is stopping her. Can she admit to everyone back home that she’s single and has lost everything? Because, if she wants the boy next door, she may just have to…

The perfect feel-good romantic comedy that will make you laugh until you cry and fall completely in love. Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes, and Emily Henry won’t be able to put this down! 

Author Bio: 

Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.)  

She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants. 

https://twitter.com/CatWalshWriter

https://www.instagram.com/catwalshwriter/

https://catherinewalshbooks.com/ 

My Review:

They say when it rains it pours and boy does it seem like Abby is in the middle of storm lately. She’s recently been dumped by her fiancé and then her company (McFarlane) has now gone under, leaving her both single, unemployed and homeless. With no other option she leaves the states and returns back to Ireland to stay with her sister Louise and in doing so reconnects with the boy from next door Luke. She’s not quite ready to give up the life she left behind and not quite ready to face what coming to Ireland means for the life she had in the states and the life she has going forward. Lies begin to spread and explode almost immediately and friendships/relationships get on a roller coaster of chaos. 

I absolutely ADORED this book overall and recommend it for anyone who loves a cute and easy read. Abby absolutely made me so mad with some of her decisions but also is going through the WORST time of her life so it’s absolutely understandable. She has so much growth throughout the book and the relationships she builds are the most memorable. I LOVED LUKE. He was a precious soul who would do anything for anyone and just was a pawn in some of the story. He’s the best and deserves the world. 

This book does not have a lot of spice so if you are looking for a romance with some cutesy and laughable moments but not a lot of the spicy moments this one is for you. Overall, 3.75/5 I just wish it had a tiny bit more of spice but I still really enjoyed the story! 

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *