The Prisoner, a review by Sherry

posted in: Sherry | 0

The Prisoner
B. A. Paris

298 pages
St. Martins Press
published November 1, 2022

Amazon | Goodreads

I’d like to thank St. Martins Press for the finished copy.

While I am not usually a fan of books that you can’t really guess the why, I was along for the ride in this one.  While it was a slow burn, it was actually a quick read for me.   I wanted to know why the kidnapping happened and why Amelie.  I will admit she is a lot stronger than me.  Total blackness would do me in.

I liked the short chapters.  I liked the alternating timelines and that the past explained how we got to the present.  Just as I was losing interest in the kidnapping, it came to an end.   I was less impressed with the very end, but I quite often find this happening in thrillers, but it wasn’t the end of the thrill, but the after that (I can’t explain this any further without a spoiler, but you’ll know what I mean when you read it).

If you like slow burn mysteries and kidnappings, you should definitely give this one a try.


About the book

Amelie has always been a survivor, from losing her parents as a child in Paris to making it on her own in London. As she builds a life for herself, she is swept up into a glamorous lifestyle where she married the handsome billionaire Ned Hawthorne.

But then, Amelie wakes up in a pitch-black room, not knowing where she is. Why has she been taken? Who are her mysterious captors? And why does she soon feel safer here, imprisoned, than she had begun to feel with her husband Ned?

In the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Therapist, multimillion-copy bestseller B. A. Paris is back with a gripping new suspense novel.

Sharing is caring!