The Mountains Wild, a review by Tanya

posted in: Tanya | 0

⛰️⛰️⛰️
The Mountains Wild  (Maggie D’arcy #1)
by Sarah Stewart Taylor
Narrator Marisa Calin

Published June 2020 by Macmillan Audio

Amazon | Goodreads

This post contains affiliate links. We earn a small commission if you purchase the book through this link.

About the Book:

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D’arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D’arcy’s family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin’s movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin’s scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin’s coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman – and a country – over two decades – The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

My Review:

Told in dual timelines, Maggie is drawn back to Ireland, 20 years after the disappearance of her cousin, to provide information that may hopefully help a new missing woman case.

The narration of this audiobook is beautiful if you like the Irish accent.  I was lulled into a trance listening to Marissa Calin and have become a big fan.

The mystery itself was interesting and I finished this book in 2 days as I was drawn in and invested in trying to find what happened to Erin.

This story wraps up nicely and so I’m really intrigued to see what Book 2 will be about. Maybe Maggie and her detective role back in the states? My library has the audiobook, so I’m on the short waitlist!

Thank you to #StMartinsPress #MinotaurBooks and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

 

 

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *