The Last Holiday, a review by Kristin

posted in: Kristin | 0

⛺⛺⛺⛺

The Last Holiday
By: Amy Sheppard

Publication Date: May 30, 2023
Published By: Bookouture
322 Pages

Find It On: Amazon | Goodreads

*This post contains affiliate links. We earn a small commission if you purchase the book through the link.

BLURB
One last holiday together. One of us wouldn’t come home…

Saturday night: It starts as an innocent holiday game amongst old friends. As we sit around our campfire, the evening sky streaked with peach, my little boy sleeping peacefully in our tent, the wine flows and secrets are spilled.

It should be harmless fun, but Annie’s questions worry me. She’s always been the keeper of our secrets. She knows all the infidelities, the indiscretions, the stolen kisses…

I just hope she knows when to stop. Because there’s something I can’t let her bring to the surface…

Wednesday morning: It’s the little things that stay with you. The hurried rip of zips being opened. Figures stumbling into the cold night air. The screams echoing across the campsite as flashlights scour the ground. That’s what happens when someone you love is murdered.

One of us is responsible for Annie’s death. One of us will stop at nothing to keep our secrets hidden…

A totally gripping psychological thriller that will take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions and have you gasping at the twists. Fans of The Housemaid, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be turning pages all night long!

MY REVIEW
This is my first read by Amy Sheppard. The story is told between Stella, Charlotte and Annie, both in the past and in the present. Once they were all very close friends, and now they have grown apart. There is a reason that everyone could have wanted Annie dead, but the secrets that are revealed and the person responsible was jaw dropping. Sheppard skillfully created unique, but fully developed characters. I really felt for Charlotte, was rooting for Stella, and definitely distrusted Annie. I think the ending was unique, and I appreciated that I was kept guessing the entire time. I really enjoyed this book and will be reading more by this author. This is a great book for anyone that loves a good, keep you guessing, thriller.

 

Sharing is caring!