The Guilt Trip, a review by Tanya

posted in: Tanya | 0

🎭🎭🎭
The Guilt Trip
by Sandie Jones
Narrator Clare Corbett

10 hours
Published August 2021 by Macmillan Audio

Amazon | Goodreads

This post contains affiliate links. We earn a small commission if you purchase the book through this link.

About the Book:

In the vein of The Other Woman, Sandie Jones’s explosive new novel The Guilt Trip will have listeners gripped to the very last chapter.

Six friends.

Rachel and Noah have been friends since they met at university. While they once thought that they might be something more, now, 2 0years later, they are each happily married to other people, Jack and Paige respectively. Jack’s brother Will is getting married, to the dazzling, impulsive Ali, and the group of six travel to Portugal for their destination weekend.

Three couples.

As they arrive at a gorgeous villa perched on a cliff-edge, overlooking towering waves that crash on the famous surfing beaches below at Nazaré, they try to settle into a weekend of fun. While Rachel is looking forward to getting to know her future sister-in-law Ali better, Ali can’t help but rub many of the group up the wrong way: Rachel’s best friend Paige thinks Ali is attention-seeking and childish, and while Jack is trying to support his brother Will’s choice of wife, he is also finding plenty to disagree with Noah about.

One fatal misunderstanding…

But when Rachel discovers something about Ali that she can hardly believe, everything changes. As the wedding weekend unfolds, the secrets each of them hold begin to spill, and friendships and marriages threaten to unravel. Soon, jumping to conclusions becomes the difference between life and death.

My Review:

I love books about friends that have been together for years and then something happens and it all falls apart.  I wonder what that says about me? 🙂

The Guilt Trip was like reading a soap opera.  Lots of drama, mis-direction, gossip, talking behind backs, dishonesty and big, dramatic reveals!

It’s not the best Thriller I’ve ever read but it sure was a fun one!  I was easily led where the author wanted me to go and only had the faintest idea of what might actually be going on.  I did guess eventually but probably way to slowly. Such fun!

The very beginning was a bit confusing, in my opinion.  So many characters introduced at once, I had them all  mixed up for a couple of chapters. But once I straightened it out, the rest of the read was simple.

Thank you to #MinotaurBooks and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *