The Dinner List, a review by Tanya

posted in: Tanya | 0

🍽️🍽️🍽️🍽️
The Dinner List
Rebecca Serle

276 pages
Published Sept 2018 by Flatiron Books

Amazon | Goodreads

This post contains affiliate links. We earn a small commission if you purchase the book through this link.

About the Book:
For fans of Me Before You and ONE DAY comes a wondrous novel of first love, loss, and the dinner of a lifetime.

When Sabrina Nielsen arrives at her thirtieth birthday dinner she finds at the table not just her best friend, but also her favorite professor from college, her father, her ex-fiance, Tobias, and Audrey Hepburn.

At one point or another, we’ve all been asked to name five people, living or dead, with whom we’d like to have dinner. Why do we choose the people we do? And what if that dinner was to actually happen? These are the questions Sabrina contends with in Rebecca Serle’s utterly captivating novel, The Dinner List, a story imbued with the same delightful magical realism as Sliding Doors, and The Rosie Project.

As the appetizers are served, wine poured, and dinner table conversation begins, it becomes clear that there’s a reason these six people have been gathered together, and as Rebecca Serle masterfully traces Sabrina’s love affair with Tobias and her coming of age in New York City, The Dinner List grapples with the definition of romance, the expectations of love, and how we navigate our way through it to happiness. Oh, and of course, wisdom from Audrey Hepburn.

Delicious but never indulgent, sweet with just the right amount of bitter, The Dinner List is a modern romance for our times. Bon appetit.

My Review:

Which 5 people would you choose for your ultimate Dinner List and why?

The Dinner List is told from the point of Sabrina, attending her Dinner with the 5 people she has put on her list.  With each person at the table having had a significant impact on her life, we learn the specifics of that impact as the story unfolds.

This story was so bittersweet.  I was very surprised with a couple of events that took place and the ending brought me to tears.  So emotional and such a beautifully written book.

This love story will be a read that you want to finish in one sitting.  A Kleenex or two may be in order.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *