Stranded, a review by Tanya

posted in: Tanya | 0

🏝️🏝️🏝️🏝️🏝️
Stranded
Sarah Goodwin

400 pages
Publishes Sept 16, 2021 by Avon

Amazon | Goodreads

This post contains affiliate links. We earn a small commission if you purchase the book through this link.

About the Book:

Eight strangers.
One island.
A secret you’d kill to keep.

When eight people arrive on the beautiful but remote Buidseach Island, they are ready for the challenge of a lifetime: to live alone for one year.

Eighteen months later, a woman is found in an isolated fishing village. She’s desperate to explain what happened to her: how the group fractured and friends became enemies; how they did what they must to survive until the boat came to collect them; how things turned deadly when the boat didn’t come…

But first Maddy must come to terms with the devastating secret that left them stranded, and her own role in the events that saw eight arrive and only three leave.

A gripping, twisty page-turner about secrets, lies and survival at all costs. Perfect for fans of The Castaways, The Sanitorium and One by One.

My Review:

I was so excited to read Stranded just based on the Summary alone. True to it’s promise, this ‘locked-door’ type mystery was fantastic!

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.  I stayed up way too late and was dog-tired at work on.  Do you think I learned my lesson? Absolutely not!  Day 2 I stayed up until 3 am so that I could finish it!  I had to know what happened, and I was not disappointed!

If you like suspense mystery/ slow-burn thrillers, add this one to your list pronto!  The setting was so unique, interesting and scary all at once.  I constantly tried to imagine myself in Maddy’s shoes and while I would just do horribly in this type of atmosphere, Maddy was such a great heroine, she made me believe that I could be right there with her, trying to survive on this island.

I’d also like to add that the characters Goodwin came up with for this story were awesomely frustrating!  I mean – total J.E.R.K.S!  The conflict that they added to the story was amazing.

This one had me totally wrapped up like a pretzel trying to figure out how it was going to end and deserves every one of the 5 stars.  Now I feel like I need to go learn some Botany!

 

Thank you to #AvonBooks and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *