Books I read in one sitting

posted in: Kendra | 0

As a group of girls who reviews books in their free time we run into a lot of books that are hit and miss for us. Here are some that I personally loved and read in one sitting. These books were unputdownable (I know this is a hated word for some) for me and lead me to find my some of my favorite authors.

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren: 

Synopsis: “Olive is always unlucky: in her career, in love, in…well, everything. Her identical twin sister Ami, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. Her meet-cute with her fiancé is something out of a romantic comedy (gag) and she’s managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a series of Internet contests (double gag). Worst of all, she’s forcing Olive to spend the day with her sworn enemy, Ethan, who just happens to be the best man.

Olive braces herself to get through 24 hours of wedding hell before she can return to her comfortable, unlucky life. But when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning from eating bad shellfish, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. And now there’s an all-expenses-paid honeymoon in Hawaii up for grabs.

Putting their mutual hatred aside for the sake of a free vacation, Olive and Ethan head for paradise, determined to avoid each other at all costs. But when Olive runs into her future boss, the little white lie she tells him is suddenly at risk to become a whole lot bigger. She and Ethan now have to pretend to be loving newlyweds, and her luck seems worse than ever. But the weird thing is that she doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, she feels kind of… lucky. “

My thoughts: Hello? Enemies to lovers, close proximity and fake dating is that you? If you want the funniest fake couple with the most relatable main character ever then this book is for you. I loved absolutely everything about this book. The chemistry of the main characters, the background story of the people who got married. Olive and her job. Absolutely everything about this book. I read this one entire Sunday afternoon and ignored absolutely all of my adult responsibilities instead. I’ve now read several of Christina Lauren books because of this book and this is still one of my favorites. 5 stars all the way around.

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes:

Synopsis: “They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”

My thoughts:

This is the first book I absolutely bawled reading. Lou is the quirkiest character I think I’ve ever read. She’s so fun and loving and refuses to let Will’s grumpiness disability give him a free pass for his rude behavior. This books ending just left me heart broken for everyone. I’ve reviewed this in more detail in the “books that broke me” post so check that out for more info! 5 stars. So good.

Blood Sisters by Jane Corry:

Synopsis: “Three little girls set off to school one sunny morning. Within an hour, one of them is dead.

Fifteen years later, Kitty can’t speak and has no memory of the accident that’s to blame. She lives in an institution, unlikely ever to leave. But that doesn’t keep her from being frightened when she encounters an eerily familiar face.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. She’s struggling to make ends meet and to forget the past. When a teaching job at a prison opens up, she takes it, despite her fears. Maybe this is her chance to set things right. Then she starts to receive alarming notes; next, her classroom erupts in violence.

Meanwhile, someone is watching both Kitty and Alison. Someone who never forgot what happened that day. Someone who wants revenge. And only another life will do. . . “

My thoughts: This book is a rollercoaster. Kitty is unable to communicate to the world but her inner dialogue is quite witty and she’s hilarious. She was one of my favorite characters. Alison is an art teacher at an institution and when one of her students gets a little too close things become shaken up for her. The past and present become blurred when both sisters are having to relive things neither want to. This book made Jane Corry an immediate buy author for me. It’s a 4/5 stars just because a few things were a little slow but overall the story is a very unique thriller and I loved it. Definitely check this one out if you’re a thriller reader.

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher:

Synopsis: “Thursday’s husband, Seth, has two other wives. She’s never met them, and she doesn’t know anything about them. She agreed to this unusual arrangement because she’s so crazy about him.

But one day, she finds something. Something that tells a very different—and horrifying—story about the man she married.

What follows is one of the most twisted, shocking thrillers you’ll ever read.

You’ll have to grab a copy to find out why.”

My thoughts:

I LOVED this book. I hung on to every word. I hated the boyfriend and couldn’t understand why Thursday would put up with this behavior. Nothing is what it seems. Thursday isn’t what she seems. I know this is a controversial opinion. People either LOVE or HATE this book but for me this was a win in my book. I highly recommend it for thrillers.

Sharing is caring!