Blog Tour: Twelve Days to Save Christmas

posted in: blog tour, Kendra | 0

Twelve Days to Save Christmas

by Elizabeth Neep

Get your copy here: | Goodreads

On the first day of Christmas, my true love… dumped me.

Poppy loves Christmas and always goes all out to make this magical time of the year extra special for her boyfriend George. But George is strangely not in the Yuletide spirit this year. As Poppy wrestles him into her Christmas jumper built for two for a holiday snapshot, she finds out why.

He’s leaving her. With only twelve days to spend together until Christmas.

Poppy is heartbroken. George is the love of her life, and what would Christmas be without kisses under the mistletoe, his mum’s delicious homemade gingerbread or their super-competitive games of Pictionary?

She’s determined to win George back. So, anxious to prove to him she can be spontaneous, she signs up as a Christmas volunteer at the local community centre. What she doesn’t know is that there’s a festive surprise coming her way…

As Poppy throws herself into her new role – mulling vats of hot cider and hanging fairy lights off everything within reach – she discovers an inner strength she never knew she had. And there’s also Theo. Her new boss. Grumpy and opinionated, he’s everything she doesn’t want.

But as the snow starts to fall, she begins to notice other things about him – like his twinkling green eyes, how he makes her laugh, and how much he cares about the people he’s trying to help.

As the twelfth day approaches, Poppy might be about to discover that the most perfect Christmas might be the one that she didn’t plan at all…

Fans of One Day in December, Beth O’Leary and Mhairi McFarlane will be completely enchanted by this witty and warm festive story about friendship, love and finding yourself.

Author Bio:

Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time.

 

My Review:

I absolutely adored this book and everything about it. There were times in this book that I just wanted to tell Poppy that George was clearly not worth it and that anyone that leaves you the second things get hard isn’t worth it. Poppy and George are the perfect couple until Poppy lost her job and George felt she was around too much. Insert Poppy making all the attempts to show George that she is still the girl that he fell in love with.
Poppy is the kindest, sweetest and honestly, naïve girl in the beginning. We see her grow and throw herself into everything she sets her mind to. She makes a game plan to get George back, she volunteers at Church street on Church street and social media work. She has a hard background that has made this whole thing harder but she’s determined to not let that keep her from creating the new family she’s already built.
George is the most self centered person in this entire book. He didn’t deserve the love that Poppy gives. I have nothing else to say without spoiling the book but I disliked George with everything in me.
Theo: I LOVED THEO. Theo is a volunteer at Church street. He’s also a selfless character in the story. He is a little awkward and is such a real character.
This is a book I could definitely see being made into a rom com style Christmas movie. It’s definitely not HEAVY on the romance and is a very PG book throughout the majority of the book. The majority of the story is as the blurb states, Poppy is determined to get George back. Whether or not it works and what role does Theo play? You’ll have to read it to find out. Overall this is a strong 4/5 for me. I definitely recommend you get your copy!

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *