Blog Tour Review, The Vacation

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0


THE VACATION

John Marrs

400 pages
Hanover Square Press
Published December 19, 2023

Buy Links: 

Harlequin | BookShop.org | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Amazon

About the book 

How far would you run to escape your past?

Venice Beach, Los Angeles. A paradise on earth. Tourists flock to the golden coast and the promise of Hollywood. But for eight strangers at a beach-front hostel, there is far more on their minds than an extended vacation. All of them are running from something. And they all have secrets they’d kill to keep…

This holiday-set read is a compulsive and addictive thriller, perfect for fans of T.M. Logan.

My Review

What a unique read.  I am not really sure what to write on this one so I don’t spoil it.  It is a little of a slow burn at the start.  There are a lot of characters to remember and the timeline is nonlinear so you need pay extra attention to put where you are reading in the timeline and if you are still reading my review LOL there is a nice payout in the second half of the book.  I was quite surprised over and over when the twists were revealed.  I have to say, I did not see any of that coming.  What seems random fits into a much bigger picture.

I wasn’t really sure if I liked any of the characters, but they were complex and strongly developed.  They all have things in their past they are running from and have connected at a hostel in California.  They are so vastly different but share a temporary home.  When I mention not liking them, I should add that there were moments I did but many I did not.  It was interesting that I could sympathize with them and then so quickly dislike them again.

It really is a book that is setup for the long haul.  The present and past of all the characters are woven together without leaving anything dangling at the conclusion.  If you are looking for an immersive read that will keep you wondering what comes next, you need to check out this one.

Author Bio: 

John Marrs is an author and former journalist based in London and Northamptonshire. After spending his career interviewing celebrities from the worlds of television, film and music for numerous national newspapers and magazines, he is now a full-time author. His books include No1 bestseller and Netflix series The One, The Passengers, award winning What Lies Between Us and The Good Samaritan. Follow him at www.johnmarrsauthor.co.uk , on Twitter @johnmarrs1, on Instagram @johnmarrs.author and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/johnmarrsauthor

 

Social Links: 

Author website | InstagramFacebookTwitterTikTok 

Sharing is caring!