Blog Tour Review, The Stay at Home Mother

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

The Stay-at-Home Mother: A completely addictive psychological thriller packed with jaw-dropping twists
Nicole Trope

286 pages
Bookouture
published January 3, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads 

About the book

Her chest tightens, her heart speeding up. The kitchen is chaos. She steps on something hard, and looks down. Toy dinosaurs are scattered everywhere. But her son is nowhere – her baby boy is gone.

The police arrive. She can’t look at her husband. Instead, she studies the network of lines on her shaking hands.

Then her phone beeps with a voice message. ‘Listen to it on speaker,’ says the detective.

A woman’s voice fills the air.

‘I’m assuming this is the Andrea Gately listed as a contact on the Missing Children of the World website. I’m calling to let you know that I’ve given your details to the police. Why are you using a picture of my son on a missing children’s website? Why are you using it and where did you get it?’

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will leave you gasping with shock and staying up way past your bedtime. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Liane Moriarty and Adele Parks.

My review:

I’m not sure if it is officially a trope or if it has a name, but I’ve been loving books where the plot centers around the reader knowing there is more to the story than they officially know at the start.  The small hints that we can guess about (and are most often wrong LOL) but that slowly unfold throughout the read. That describes this book to a tee.

This is not my first read by the author and I love her outrageous storylines.  You will not have read this plot anywhere else.  It starts off with a bang with the voicemail about using someone else’s child’s picture in the missing post.  Then it casually switches to two neighbors that live across the street from each other that both harbor secrets.  They both seem so normal, but are they?  I had all kinds of wild ideas about the secrets the story hinted to and I can say I did have one right, but the rest were not even close to what I was imagining.  I love when I can guess something correct in a twisted book, but only when it was not an obvious guess.

And just when you are let in on all the secrets, there is one more ready to catch you off guard.  I really liked this one.  It kept me guessing (even what I was able to guess, I didn’t know for sure until the reveal), it was a quick read, and the writing style made it so easy to read.  I’m not a mom so I didn’t really associate with either main character, but that did not stop my enjoyment.

If you are looking for a quick, can’t put down book, you should give this one a try.

About the author

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree in Children’s Literature.

The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.

She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

Author social media

Facebook | Twitter

Author email sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/nicole-trope

Sharing is caring!