Blog Tour Review, The Sandringham Mystery

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 1

The Sandringham Mystery
Christina James

378 pages
Bloodhound Books
published April 19, 2022

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book:

Shocking evidence is unearthed in the cellar of a British couple’s mansion—and the crimes of the past may lead to tragedy in the present . . .

Its name is Laurieston, but the villagers call it Sausage Hall—a Victorian mansion belonging to tycoon businessman Kevan de Vries and his ailing wife, Joanna. The couple are staying at their St. Lucia house until Kevan gets a call from DI Tim Yates saying that the mansion has been broken into—and insisting that Kevan return to the United Kingdom to explain the passport-forging operation the police have discovered in the cellar.

Kevan knows nothing about the illicit activity and is horrified about the human remains that are also eventually unearthed at Laurieston. As he tries to take care of Joanna and their autistic son, Kevan fears that the investigation may reveal a different kind of crime, one he committed long ago. And as the South Lincolnshire police dig deeper, will shocking events both historical and present-day change his life forever?

My Review:

What starts out as a burglary, turns into forged passports and more.  There were multiple storylines that I didn’t know if they were related.  While this is listed as the DI Yates series, the POVs were from multiple characters, including de Vries.  This book focuses more on the plot than the characters and while it started out a little slow, it definitely picked up.  Most of today’s detective novels focus not only on the story but the lives of the detectives working on the case and this one stands out a little since it really did focus mostly on the case.

I read it in a day and am starting the Heritage Murders to read more about DI Yates.

About the author:

I was born in the ancient market town of Spalding and have worked as a bookseller, publisher and teacher. Writing is my lifelong passion. The DI Yates novels are psychological crime thrillers set mainly in Lincolnshire, though Yates himself also travels widely. The Sandringham Mystery begins with the murder of a young woman on the royal estate at Sandringham and draws on my memories of the extraordinary house in which my grandmother worked as a paid companion when I was a child. The Canal Murders tells the story of three bodies discovered in the Fossdyke Navigation, near Lincoln, and draws inspiration from several true cold case crimes. The Heritage Murders is about Kevan de Vries, a local tycoon, who exiles himself to St Lucia because he is wanted for questioning by the police about a people trafficking ring but returns incognito to the UK because he is obsessed with discovering the identity of his father – and so exposes himself and others to danger. I live in a small Pennines village with my husband and a rescue cat and several hundred thousand bees. I run a small business which provides market research and business development support to (mainly academic) publishers. I spend most of my time writing, working and reading, but I also enjoy cycling and walking and have recently acquired a little boat to mess about in.


Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *