Blog Tour Review: The Perfect Daughter

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0


The Perfect Daughter
Alex Stone

The perfect daughter…

Jess Harper has spent her whole life trying to make her mum, Abigail happy and proud. And everything Jess does, from the clothes she wears, the job she has, the men she dates, are all approved by Abigail first.

The perfect boyfriend…

So when Jess announces that she has a new man in her life – plumber Adam – Abigail is less than impressed. ‘A plumber? Really, Jessica….’ Adam encourages Jess to break free from her mum’s manipulation, can’t she see what’s happening?

The perfect mother….

But Abigail is only doing these things to keep Jess safe, to protect her from getting hurt again…isn’t she?

Or the perfect liar?

Jess, caught in the middle, doesn’t know who to believe or trust. And then Adam vanishes without trace.

Now Jess is the police’s prime suspect and they want to know if Jess really is as perfect as she seems….

A gripping new psychological thriller for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and S.E.Lynes.

Amazon | Goodreads

My Review:

Told through dual timelines in the present and the past, this is the story of Jessica, her controlling mother and her new boyfriend. When he goes missing, the police suspect Jessica.

It was sad and even frustrating watching Jessica’s relationship with her mother. I really just wanted to scream at her to stick up for herself. And on the other side is Adam who really isn’t all that nice of a guy. It almost made me wonder what Jessica had done to deserve this lot in life.

But as I always say, you don’t need to like the characters as long as you find them intriguing or compelling. While the characters are well developed, it was the storyline that drew me in. I wanted to know more about the mysterious Adam, until I didn’t, and what happened to him. Did he ghost her or is he dead?  And if he’s dead, who murdered him.

The book starts out at a slow, even pace, introducing you to the characters and then really builds the tension and pace until the end.

While the mother’s manipulation might be a trigger for some, if you like a good family psychological thriller, you should check out The Perfect Daughter.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author Bio –

Alex Stone, originally an accountant from the West Midlands, is now a psychological suspense writer based in Dorset. This beautiful and dramatic coastline is the inspiration and setting for her novels. She was awarded the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2019 and her debut thriller The Perfect Daughter will be published by Boldwood in October 2021.

FacebookTwitter | Instagram 

 

Sharing is caring!