Blog Tour Review, The Mistake I Made

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

The Mistake I Made: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist
Sam Hepburn

330 pages
Bookouture
published August 11, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book

A man is dead. And only I know why.

As we sit drinking wine by the river and I gaze into his dark brown eyes, I know I have finally met the man of my dreams. I have been hurt before, but this time will be different.

He has a terrible past and everyone tells me he can’t be trusted, but they don’t know what I know. I know deep down that together we can overcome anything.

Because sure he has secrets, but who doesn’t?

But now a man is dead. And the police are knocking on my door.

Was trusting him the biggest mistake I could make…? I don’t know where to go or who to turn to. What if I am next?

This addictive and gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of The HousemaidThe Family Across the Street and The Family Upstairs.

My Review

I always forget why I picked a book by the time I read it and for this one I thought it was a women’s fiction book and boy was I wrong.  This is a great book of misdirection.  It starts out with meeting Vanessa as she is redirecting her life after a divorce.  And I always chuckle when I see the words jaw dropping twist in the title or subtitle, but this time it is a pretty true statement.  I did not see where this one was heading.

While the pace was a little slow in the beginning, it was lulling you in and developing the characters before the whammy.  Go in blind and don’t read about this one as spoilers really would take away the fun of this one.

I don’t want to say any more and potentially spoil it.  Just trust me.  One part women’s fiction with an equal part psychological thriller.  You can’t go wrong with this one.

Author bio

Sam Hepburn read modern languages at Cambridge University and, after a brief spell in advertising, joined the BBC as a General Trainee. She worked as a documentary maker for twenty years and was one of the commissioners for the launch of BBC Four. Since then, she has written several books, including psychological thrillers Gone Before and Her Perfect Life, and novels for young adults and children. She won the 2017 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story award and has been nominated for several other prestigious prizes, including the CILIP Carnegie Medal for her YA thrillers.

Sam has worked and travelled widely in Africa and the Middle East, and is a trustee of the Kenyan’s children’s charity, I Afrika. She now lives in London with her husband and children.

Author social media

WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitterNewsletter sign up

 

 

Sharing is caring!