Blog Tour Review, The Matchmaker

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

The Matchmaker
Catherine Walsh

382 pages
Bookouture
published April 18, 2023

Amazon | US Audio | UK Audio | Goodreads

Listen to a sample here:

About the book

Katie Collins has barely ever left her tiny Irish village of Ennisbawn. Why would she? With its tightknit community, friendly local pub, surrounded by glistening lakes and perfectly mysterious forests, it’s a place of peaceful beauty.

Or it was peaceful. Until Callum Dempsey turned up. Part of a hot-shot (and, Katie has to admit, hot is annoyingly apt for him…) development team with zero eye for beauty or charm, he’s not only building a hideous hotel just outside the village, he’s also just announced a plan to knock down Ennisbawn’s only remaining pub. To make way for a view from the golf course.

It’s the final blow to the village and the last straw for Katie, who refuses to let her home-from-home disappear. The pub is her life – her job, but also her last connection to her parents, who had met at Ennisbawn’s once-famous matchmaking festival that was held in the grounds.

But, after being laughed off the building site in her best flannel pyjamas for demanding the builders leave, Katie decides enough is enough and hatches a plan. She’s going to revive the matchmaking festival, save the pub, and single-handedly bring the town back to life again.

She might even help her two best friends find love as well. Since, heck, what’s another project when you’re taking on the world’s hottest, evilest man?

But what Ireland’s newest matchmaker doesn’t know is that even when someone’s really not your type on paper, love might be a little bit more than just a formula…

A gorgeously escapist and utterly hilarious small town romcom perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sophie Kinsella and Christina Lauren.

My Review:

I’ve needed a pick me up and this book did the trick.  I’m always a fan of small towns and opposites attract.  The story, the setting and the characters are all charming.  On top of rooting for the main characters, I also loved the side characters.  Maybe they can have their own book in the cozy little town.

The plot isn’t new, but how often is it in a romance?  I was so besotted with Holiday Romance that it is hard to live up to that, but this is a really good book that I read at just the right moment.  Who wouldn’t want to fall in love in Ireland?  Am I right?  With a matchmaking festival, nonetheless.  I devoured this one in a day.

I think anyone liking sweet romances, small town charm and enemies to lovers will root for Callum and Katie.  And after you finish it, write a review to also beg for another book in the series featuring others in the town.

Author Bio:

Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.)

She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants.

Author social media:

Twitter | Instagram | Website

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Catherine Walsh here: https://www.bookouture.com/catherine-walsh

Sharing is caring!