Blog Tour Review: The Island

posted in: blog tour, Tanya | 0

The Island

Mary Grand

The Island – where everyone knows everyone, and secrets are impossible to keep…

‘Be careful, you don’t know them as well as you think. Remember – anyone can kill.’

Juliet has returned to the Isle of Wight from years abroad to visit her sick father and to be reunited with her three sisters – Cassie, a professional musician who seems to have lost her way in life, Mira, who is profoundly deaf, is married to the local vicar but their relationship is falling apart, and Rosalind, glamorous and charming but now deeply unhappy and secretive about her life.

As Juliet’s father lies dying, he issues her with a warning. There is a killer on the loose, and they may be closer than she can ever imagine. He anxiously tells Juliet that he confided a family secret in son-in-law Rhys, and now regrets ever saying a word.

Days later, as the clock strikes one in the morning, a man comes out of Rhys’s church, walks along the path and is run down by a car driven by an unidentified person. When the finger of suspicion points to Juliet, she realises the only way to clear her name is to uncover the secrets her family has been keeping from her for years. But with a killer on the loose, danger is getting closer all the time…

The Island  is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,  claustrophobic, and where secrets are hard to keep. Mary Grand’s heart-stopping who-dunnits are perfect for fans of Louise Candlish. Agatha Christie and Lucy Foley.

Purchase Links – https://amzn.to/2OJXBwQ

My Review:

I love a good mystery. Whodunnit’s are always so much fun. Especially when you think everyone is guilty. Grand wrote exactly this kind of mystery in The Island.

Everyone appears to have secrets and at one point or another in the book, I thought it was every one of the characters. I thought this was fantastic!

The communication between the characters was really frustrating for me. So many times the main character started to ask questions of her family and then just let them off the hook when they avoided the conversation. I feel like in real life, no one would let someone consistently walk away from conversations and not provide answers if they think they may have murdered someone. While it helped prolong the mystery and the story line, it made me a little crazy.

Overall, it was a fun mystery and I recommend it for anyone that likes to try and figure out who did it!

Author Bio:

Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel, The House Party, which was published by Boldwood in August 2020, is set.

 

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authormaryg

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maryandpepper/

Newsletter Sign Up Link: https://bit.ly/MaryGrandNewsletter

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/mary-grand

 

Sharing is caring!