Blog Tour Review, The Fake Out

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

The Fake Out 
Sharon M Peterson

410 pages
Bookouture
published July 5, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book

I can’t lock up the library until the guy asleep at his desk leaves. Thank the universe for audiobooks because I could be here all night. But I see his mouth twitch at the exact moment a steamy kiss takes place. My face burns when I realize my headphones aren’t plugged in and my phone is at full volume.

It’s not every day you see a new face in my small hometown of Two Harts, let alone one belonging to an annoyingly handsome all-star NFL player. But for some reason Chris Sterns has decided that the library where I work is his go-to spot to hide from his mega-fans, and unfortunately, winding me up is his new favorite sport.

Being crowned “world’s sexiest man” has done little to curb his confident charm and when he somehow ropes me into his two-person book club, I can’t help warming to his endless positivity.

But when a photo of him stumbling out of a Las Vegas club with a woman in tow is leaked to the press, I can’t help but question whether his good boy persona is just an act.

And that’s far from the only answer I’m left searching for when Chris pops the question I’ve only ever heard in my favorite romance books. Did he really just ask me to marry him?

It’s not the proposal I was expecting, but with my mom’s medical bills piling up faster than I can pay them, and with the scandal threatening to ruin everything Chris has worked for; could an engagement be the perfect fake out for us both? Or is this a game we’ll both lose?

A totally uplifting and addictive friends-to-lovers romance full of laugh-out-loud moments. Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sarah Adams and Olivia Dade.

My Review

Lately I am all about the fake dating, so let’s up the ante and make it a fake fiancé.  And while our hero, and trust me he is almost too good to be true, is a football lineman, you don’t need to know anything about the sport or even like it to enjoy this one.  And our heroine is a librarian.  What an opposites attract story.  In addition he has money and she has two jobs to make ends meet.  He is sunshine to her grumpy.  They are opposites you can really root for.

I can so relate to Mae and her I can’t ask anyone for help attitude.  After seeing all she does for her family and how her life has been, I wanted to see good things happen to her.  There is a meet cute with a twist of it happening again later in the book.  I rarely pick up book boyfriends, maybe because i read thrillers LOL, but he might be on my list.  Defensive linemen are known for being big and gruff and he is just a big softie protecting those he loves.  And I’m not what I liked more: her questions about his life after reading his Wikipedia page or his question about the regency romance they read as part of their book club.

And what made this one even better was not only the romance, but showcasing friendships and family.  Mae got to learn how to give and take in all of her relationships.  There were some heartwarming moments that borught a tear to my eye in addition to laughing at the pranks pulled on the town meanie.  I really want to learn how to pull off the cucumber trick.

This is a great choice for a summer/beach read as you get romance, laughs and a little bit of heart rolled up into one book.

About the author:

Sharon M. Peterson is a former middle school teacher and has the personality to prove it. One of her favorite quotes is from Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath: “It was her habit to build up laughter out of inadequate materials.” She strives to tackle life that way and create characters who do the same. She lives in Washington with her husband and four children, including two autistic sons. She has one cat, two dogs, one tattoo, and an intense fear of poodles (don’t ask). She can usually be found hunched over her computer, creating characters and stories she hopes you’ll love as much as she does.

Author social media:

WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitter

Email sign up

https://www.bookouture.com/sharon-m-peterson/

Sharing is caring!