Blog Tour Review, The Babysitter’s Secret

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0
The Babysitter’s Secret
Casey Kelleher

239 pages
Bookouture
published May 24, 2023 

Amazon | Goodreads

About the Book:

Everything I thought I knew about my life is a lie. My mother revealed a terrible, dangerous secret in her last letter to me. But, with her death, any chance of knowing the truth has disappeared. I’ll have to do whatever it takes to find out for myself.

Going back to the house where I was born, I find a family living the life I’d always dreamed of. And when Cecelia, the mother, mistakes me for the new nanny, I seize the chance to move in. Maybe, being in the house every day and night, I will remember more, uncover more, about the secret that haunts me…

But this family is not the happy one it appears from the outside. Cecelia is angry, unpredictable, unstable. She is not the mother these children deserve. They are scared of her, and rightly so.

As my memories start to crystalize, I am ever more determined to shelter them from harm. Because history has a horrible way of repeating itself, and I’ll do everything I can to protect these children. But how long can I stay here, undetected, pretending to be someone I’m not? And if the children end up in danger, what will I have to do to save them…?

With twists no reader will EVER see coming, this incredibly gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Widow and The Housewarming.

My Review

As I started this one, I had no idea where we were headed.  What started out as two seemingly different plots in the same book, does eventually reveal the connection.  I couldn’t decide if they were in the same timeline and who might be trustworthy.  It’s a clever premise and execution.  By the time is all unravels, it is a little dark and disturbing.

I wasn’t sure if I liked any of the characters or if any of them were trustworthy.  They weren’t even relatable to me, but I was hooked as I wanted to know how the two stories would fit together.  Slowly everyone’s secrets are revealed through many twists and turns.

If you like dark, slow burn mysteries, then go out and grab this one.

Author Bio

Casey Kelleher was born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, and she grew up as an avid reader.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up their three children together with my husband, she penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that Casey could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

If you click the yellow ‘follow’ button, Amazon will send you an email when she has a new release, or if there’s a special deal you might be interested in. It’s the best way to make sure you never miss a book! Casey loves connecting with her readers, and there are plenty of ways you can get in touch:

Social Media

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/casey-kelleher

Sharing is caring!