Blog Tour Review, Snowed In

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Snowed In
Catherine Walsh

384 pages
Bookouture
published November 1, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book

 

Megan is dreading going home for the holidays. She’s the village pariah, the she-devil who left local golden boy Isaac at the altar four years ago and ran away to the big city. She could really do without the drama. Particularly as he’s engaged again, and she’s just been dumped for the fourth time this year.

Christian’s fed up of being on his own every Christmas. He doesn’t mind being alone, but he hates his family’s sad eyes and soft tones as they sit around coupled up. Because he’s actually, totally, fine.

So when Megan literally bumps into Christian in a Dublin pub, they come up with a pact to see them through the holiday season. They’re going to be the very best fake dates for each other, ever.

Rules are drawn up, a contract is signed on a wine-stained napkin. They will sit through each other’s family gatherings and be outrageously in love until freed from their annual obligations. After all, it’s only for a few weeks.

But with everyone home for the holidays, two big families to deal with alongside old friends, old flames and old feelings, things are bound to get messy. And when a snowed-in cabin and a little Christmas magic are added to the mix, anything could happen…

A swoonworthy and utterly gorgeous romantic comedy that will make you laugh out loud and fall completely in love. Fans of Emily Henry, Sophie Kinsella and Abby Jimenez won’t be able to put this down!

My Review

I know I was a little grumpy about holiday books a while back but it was just a phase.  I have read a few now and while not full out in Christmas mode, I am definitely ready for some Christmas romcoms.

This one hit the spot.  It did take me a moment to warm up and love the main characters (could be me and that grumpy thing I mentioned), but I did and ended up loving this one.  Megan as a run away bride and Christian as her protector.  I didn’t know how much I liked the fake dating trope until last year, but I love it when it is done well and it is here.

There is some witty banter and this is my third book close together with an isolated cabin in the woods, but the use is quite different than in the other thrillers I read.  There are a couple of side stories about a proposal and resolving Megan’s runaway bride slights.

While there are a couple of slightly spicy scenes, but this could really be a Hallmark movie.  (but they kiss before the last page)

If you need a little romance, a laugh and some holiday spirit, you need this book!

Author Bio:

Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.)

She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants.

Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | Website | Newsletter

 

Sharing is caring!