Blog Tour Review, Only Girl Alive

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0
Only Girl Alive
Holly S. Roberts

276 pages
7 hours 35 minutes
Bookouture
January 13th 2023

Buy Links:

AmazonAppleKoboGoogleAudible US | Audible UK

Listen here: http://ow.ly/3u3K50M95LF

About the Book: 

As day breaks over the Tanner family home, the house is deadly silent and the door is firmly closed. Upstairs, the whole family lie cold and lifeless in their beds. All with the same look of fear in their unblinking eyes…

Detective Eve Bennet takes a steadying breath as she enters the main bedroom of the Tanners’ modest home in the tight-knit town of Hilldale, Utah. Mrs Tanner’s high-collared nightgown and her long plaited blonde hair are soaked in blood. Next to her, Mr Tanner’s hands are clasped together in a final prayer.

Filled with dread, Eve forces herself towards the children’s rooms. But instead of two children, she only finds one. Where is the youngest daughter, Hannah? And why are there long scratches across the walls?

Eve tracks Hannah down to her uncle’s house nearby. But he won’t let her step foot in the house. Eve knows what it’s like to be held captive by a family member, and fears for Hannah’s safety. What is he terrified Hannah might reveal?

Back at the Tanner home, Eve makes a shocking discovery in the dust covered attic. Mr Tanner was hiding a dark secret from the rest of the community—the kind of secret someone would kill for.

Realizing another family could be in danger, Eve runs from the house and stumbles into the path of the one man she spent years trying to forget— and he won’t let her get away this time. Can Eve escape the evil that has haunted her whole life? And will she catch the killer before another innocent family is murdered?

Fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot and Lisa Regan will be absolutely gripped by this explosive and totally unputdownable crime thriller from a USA Today bestselling author.

My Review:

This is the first book in the new Detective Eve Bennet series.  It’s rare for me to start a series at book one, but I appreciated it with this one.  Eve used to be a part of the Mormon like community where four murders take place, so there is a uniqueness to her leading the team that is investigating the murders.  While I haven’t done any research to see how close this community is to the ones that exist in Utah, but I appreciated the complexity of the community.  I have read a few detective novels that took place in an Amish community, but never in a polygamist community.

Eve’s brother is still part of the community and joins the rest in trying to disrupt her team’s investigation.  There is such an interesting dynamic between Eve and her former community.  It really adds a unique angle to this detective series.  And it kept me guessing.  I find detective novels are rarely fast paced, but this one seemed a little slower than the average pace.

I was able to switch back and forth between the book and the audiobook and Stacia Keogh does a great job narrating this somewhat dark novel. She kept me focused on the plot.

If you are looking for a unique twist on a detective novel, you should check this one out.  I can’t wait to see where the series heads next.

Author Bio

Holly Roberts began writing to alleviate stress in her day job, that of a homicide and sex crimes detective. Romance was her go to genre because she required a happy ending. She also touched on cozy mysteries and added six books to her forty book romance repertoire. Now that she’s retired and her mind at peace, she decided to delve into crime thrillers using her background and thirst for research to write the Eve Bennet series.

Holly has two movie/television options under her belt for her amazing life story. Part of the reason is Holly became a police officer at age 45 and led two high profile cases, one involving a serial killer. Now she enjoys the excitement of writing about crime while sitting at home with her two dogs, laptop, and a cup of hot tea close by.

 

Social Media

FacebookTwitterWebsiteInstagram |

Sharing is caring!