Blog Tour Review, How to Keep a Husband for 10 Days

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

How to Keep a Husband for 10 Days
Jessica Hatch

293 pages
Bookouture
published February 8, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book

Pretending to be married… How hard can it be?!

When Lina’s oldest friends unexpectedly announce they’re coming to stay, she has to think fast. No one knows she and her husband Brown are breaking up, and so she persuades him to act as if they aren’t… After all, how hard can it be to pretend to be married for another ten days?

Surely if they follow these rules, they’ll be fine?

  1. Throw your backs out striking couple poses
  2. Practice laughing super loudly at each other’s jokes
  3. Hold each other’s hands with a grip of steel when walking
  4. Share a bed…

But, despite her step-by-step guide, pretending to be married isn’t as easy as she thought. And by day five, Lina is starting to realise there’s a thin line between love and hate.

And while she can try to fool her friends, she can’t fool her heart. Was she too hasty calling time on her marriage? Is this becoming more than make believe? And does she even have enough time to find out if Brown feels the same?

This absolutely hilarious and totally addictive romcom is perfect for fans of Ali Hazelwood’s The Love Hypothesis, Christina Lauren’s The Unhoneymooners, and Emily Henry.

My Review

While this one is billed as a laugh out loud rom-com, I found it more to be a study in friendship and marriage.  I was a little disappointed at the start as my brain adapted to the reality versus what I was expecting.  But once I altered my expectations, I liked the misfit group of friends.  Lina is slightly neurotic from the start and it seemed to increase as I read.  Told in multiple timelines in the past showing how the couple met and progressed in their relationship and in the present when they are separated and hiding it.

It shows the sad consequences when a couple doesn’t communicate.  I liked Brown and I liked the forced proximity and fake marriage (kinda like fake dating, but marriage?) tropes.  I think if you like slow burn dramas and aren’t looking for a rom-com, you could enjoy this one.

Author bio

Jessica Hatch has a passion for writing humorous women’s fiction with a strong-beating heart. She loves to develop quirky, high-concept “what if” scenarios and then drop her characters into them, escape room–style, to see what happens. Her work spotlights characters and locales the reader can fall in love with, and aims to explore real-world issues that women and nonbinary people face.

Jessica has worked in book publishing since 2013. She has had bylines published in Writer’s DigestThe Millions, and G*Mob Magazine, among others, and she is a proud alumna of the Mors Tua Vita Mea workshop in Sezze Romano, Italy. Before being acquired by Bookouture, her debut novel won a pitch slam at the Brooklyn Book Festival in 2018 and was workshopped by acclaimed author Rumaan Alam at Aspen Summer Words in 2019.

Jessica was born outside of Richmond, Virginia, but now lives in Jacksonville, Florida, with her bartender husband, Paul, and their three cats. When she is not writing, you can find her jogging on the Riverwalk or planning her next international trip. Say hello at www.jessicahatch.com.

Author social media

Instagram | TwitterWebsite

Newsletter sign up: http://www.thread-books.com/sign-up/?source=endmatter&author=jessica-hatch-369

 

 

Sharing is caring!