Blog Tour Review, Holiday Romance

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Holiday Romance
Catherine Walsh

318 pages
Bookouture
published October 4, 2022

Goodreads | Amazon | Apple | KOBO | Google

About the book:

She’s meant to be catching flights, not catching feelings…

Molly and Andrew are just trying to get home to Ireland for the holidays, when a freak snowstorm grounds their flight.

Nothing romantic has ever happened between them: they’re friends and that’s all. But once a year, for the last ten years, Molly has spent seven hours and fifteen minutes sitting next to Andrew on the last flight before Christmas from Chicago to Dublin, drinking terrible airplane wine and catching up on each other’s lives. In spite of all the ways the two friends are different, it’s the holiday tradition neither of them has ever wanted to give up.

Molly isn’t that bothered by Christmas, but—in yet another way they’re total opposites—Andrew is a full-on fanatic for the festive season and she knows how much getting back to Ireland means to him. So, instead of doing the sane thing and just celebrating the holidays together in America, she does the stupid thing. The irrational thing. She vows to get him home. And in time for his mam’s famous Christmas dinner.

The clock is ticking. But Molly always has a plan. And—as long as the highly-specific combination of taxis, planes, boats, and trains all run on time—it can’t possibly go wrong.

What she doesn’t know is that, as the snow falls over the city and over the heads of two friends who are sure they’re not meant to be together, the universe might just have a plan of its own…

A totally gorgeous and escapist friends-to-lovers festive romance with a swoon-worthy hero. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane, and Christina Lauren.

My Review:

So of course as everyone starts to read for spooky season, I read a Christmas romance.  We have friends to lovers and opposites attracting, and I rooted for them, HARD, so this was a great romance to me.  I’ll remind everyone that my main need in a romance is for me to root for the couple.  If you don’t have that, then I don’t think you have a worthy romance.

What starts out as an accident and continues as tradition, Molly and Andrew share a plane ride home from Chicago to Dublin for the holidays.  Molly really isn’t into the holidays while Andrew is a Christmas lover.

I love to read about the kindness others show each other.  Molly knows how much Andrew wants to see his family so when a storm blows in and wreaks havoc on their plans to fly home, she sets up an ambitious (read nuts) plan to get him home.  I can’t put my finger on it, but it reminds me of an old movie the way the book is setup showing all the flights over the years.

I loved Andrew and Molly.  I loved the Christmas setting and the storm, and the inclusion of the families to provide depth to the story and characters.  There really wasn’t anything I didn’t like about this one.

When it comes time to pick a holiday read, you cannot go wrong with this one.

Author Bio:

Catherine Walsh was born and raised in Ireland. She has a degree in Popular Literature and the only prize she ever won for writing was at the age of 14 in school (but she still cherishes it.)

She lived in London for a few years where she worked in Publishing and the non-profit sector before returning to Dublin where she now lives between the mountains and the sea. When not writing she is trying and failing to not kill her houseplants.

Twitter | Instagram | Website

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Catherine Walsh here: https://www.bookouture.com/catherine-walsh

 

Audio Links:

 

 

Listen to a sample here:

 

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *