Blog Tour Review, Her Last Words

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Her Last Words
Carolyn Arnold

322 pages
Bookouture
published October 17, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads 

About the Book: 

The glow from the fireplace throws an eerie light over the woman’s carefully arranged body, her lifeless eyes reflecting the flames that slowly burn the evidence of who did this to her…

When Detective Amanda Steele is called to the brutal murder scene of successful local author Felicity Kelley, her blood runs cold. Because Amanda not only knew the victim, but was the last person Felicity called moments before she was murdered. Plagued with guilt that she never answered, Amanda is left wondering whether she could have prevented the murder, and vows to catch the killer, no matter what.

Desperately searching the crime scene for clues, Amanda is shocked when she discovers a Queen of Hearts playing card, suggesting the murder could be an imitation of a scene from Felicity’s bestselling crime novel. Terrified that she is dealing with a crazed fan who could strike again, Amanda’s worst fears are confirmed when another innocent woman is viciously murdered, with the same chilling calling card left behind.

But when Amanda connects the murders with a cold case from fifteen years ago, a case that Felicity appears to have been researching for her next novel, she is forced to question if the killer’s motive is even more sinister than she first suspected. But the closer Amanda gets to unearthing this motive, the closer she gets to becoming the next victim…

A completely pulse-pounding and unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

My Review

So it’s another review and another crime procedural for me.  My grandfather was a cop, and the analytical side of my brain loves trying to solve the crime alongside the team of detectives.

I used to mention when the case was personal for the team, but it seems that is the trend lately and this one is no exception.  Amanda knew the victim.  She was a source of information of the police for the writer that was murdered.  I finally read a murder mystery set in the book publishing world.

Amanda and Trent take over the case based on Amanda’s relationship with the victim and they work to track down who could have wanted the author dead.  The clues are uncovered slowly, but while keeping my interest and giving me a chance to try and unwind what has happened.  Amanda has guilt that she missed calls from the victim just before she was murdered in addition to leaving her family time behind to work on this unscheduled case.  I like the mix of her backstory, her current personal life and the current case.  It makes Amanda a more believable and relatable character.  This was such a quick read for me.  I kept wanting to know how it would end.

While this is the ninth one in the series, but it can be read as a stand alone.  You will miss the growth of the characters but can enjoy the current case.  This is part of my ever-growing series of crime procedurals that I always seem to be waiting for the next book in the series.

Author Bio

 

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from police procedurals, hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

Social Media

 

Sharing is caring!