Blog Tour Review, Her Last Tear

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Her Last Tear
Stacy Green

285 pages
Bookouture
published July 25, 2023

Amazon | US Audible | UK Audible | Goodreads

Listen to an audiobook sample here.

About the book

Color explodes in the night sky, every boom and spray of lights getting louder cheers from the happy crowd. But two little girls are hiding in fear. “I want my mommy,” Abby whispers. A tear falls down her cheek as she clutches her sister’s hand and darkness finally falls…

When six-year-old Abby and nine-year-old Thea are snatched from a crowd at a fireworks display, Detective Nikki Hunt is determined to return the sweet sisters, with golden curls and laughing smiles, to their desperate mother Britney. The last person to see them alive witnessed the girls being led towards the docks by someone they seemed to know.

As Nikki begins her interviews, she’s shocked to learn that Britney has a dark secret. Ten years ago she ran away from Thea’s biological father, a man Britney claims was controlling and dangerous. Certain he must have taken the girls, Nikki urges the state troopers in nearby Thief River Falls to search the isolated ranch where he lives. But he is devastated to hear the girls are missing, and had no idea that Thea was even his daughter…

Then a witness comes forward claiming they saw a young boy clutching Thea’s little pink backpack at the fireworks. Nikki knows he’s the key to finding the girls alive, but she has no idea that someone on her team will do anything to keep his identity a secret. Unable to trust those closest to her, can Nikki unravel the truth and save Thea and Abby before their innocent lives are lost?

An absolutely gripping and totally addictive thriller from USA Today bestseller Stacy Green that will keep you racing through the pages all night long. Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh will devour this thriller in one sitting!

My Review

As I always say when I finish one in this series, I love this series.  I was captured by Nikki’s back story and how it played into the character and I have yet to be disappointed reading one of these.  This one is a little light on Nikki’s family and personal life, other than it is mentioned that her daughter played with the missing girls, but this gives it a chance to be a little more personal for another character.  I won’t mention any names since it doesn’t get personal until part way through the book.

The team along with other agencies is searching for missing girls and there is no shortage of suspects or theories.  And every one of the suspects seems to hold a secret or two. I’ll admit to following a few red herrings as I just read along for pure enjoyment and wasn’t trying hard to solve the case.  Which is not normal for me.  At one point I did know who the kidnapper was, but that was because at some point I suspected everyone.  LOL

And because this is about missing girls the pace is quick and the stakes are high.  I liked the aspect of the different agencies trying to work together finding the girls.  And the realness of egos and opinions wreaking a little havoc.

While all of the books can be read as a stand alone, I would be remiss if I didn’t say to pick this one up from the start.  The growth of Nikki, both personally and professionally, is part of what I like.

And if you aren’t one to normally read the acknowledgements, I suggest you do this time.  It will remind you that the author you read and critique is human and going through their own ups and downs in life.  I feel for the author and the year she had while writing this one.

Author Bio

Stacy Green is a USA Today best-selling author of more than a dozen mysteries and thrillers. Her books include the award-winning Lucy Kendall series, the Cage Foster series, and the USA Today best-selling Nikki Hunt series. Stacy has bachelor’s degrees in Journalism/Mass Communication and Sociology from Drake University. She’s a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America.

Stacy lives in Iowa with her husband, daughter, and fur babies.

Social Media

 

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Instagram

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/stacy-green

 

 

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *