Blog Tour Review, Death on the Scotland Express

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Death on the Scotland Express
Fliss Chester

288 pages
Bookouture
published November 27, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

About the book

Someone on board has a deadly destination in mind… can Cressida stop them before it’s too late?

After an eventful trip to the Scottish Highlands, Cressida Fawcett is looking forward to being back among her society friends in London. Enjoying an ice-cold martini in the lounge car of the express train, loyal pug Ruby on her lap, she’s ready to blow off some steam!

But Cressida’s hopes for a relaxing journey are dashed when a gunshot resounds through the carriages. Industrial tycoon Lewis Warriner has been shot dead in his cabin. And as this train has been racing through the countryside, the culprit must be among Cressy’s fellow passengers…

Teaming up with Detective Andrews of Scotland Yard, also on his way back to London, they work their way through the suspects. Did Warriner’s mistress, a famous dancer, see his death as her ticket on to the silver screen? Or was it the mysterious man who can’t take his eyes off Lewis’s close companion?

When the murder weapon is found in the compartment Mr Warriner’s wife occupies alone, she becomes the chief suspect. Until there’s another gunshot. When Cressida finds out that Andrews is hit, panic sets in, but she must try to stay calm.

But with her friend and co-investigator out of action, can Cressida get the journey, and the investigation, back on track? And will she catch the murderer before they reach their final destination?

Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss will absolutely love this addictive Golden Age cosy mystery.

My Review

Another great edition to the series.  I am always a fan of Cressida’s as she independent and spunky for the 1920s.  I love “watching” her gather clues, interrogate suspects, and sort through it all as she solves the murder.  Her mind works in a unique way.

The locked room aspect of this one provided an interesting element to the case and I loved that is paid homage to Murder on the Orient Express while not being to like it to spoil the fun.  While the murder investigation took a few twists and turns along the way, I love the book as a whole.  The budding feelings she has with Alfred, her friend’s brother is a nice touch to the series.  So I suspect he will pop up again.  I also loved her trying to help with a young lad whose nanny had disappeared.  With said young lad adding some humor of this own as boys will be boys, especially when unattended.

Plenty of suspects and plenty of sleuthing by Cressida and Alfred.  A great lighthearted cozy mystery.  This is great for historical cozy fans.

About the author:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

Sharing is caring!