Blog Tour Review, Death by a Cornish Cove

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Death by a Cornish Cove
Fliss Chester

291 pages
Bookouture
published February 9, 2023

Amazon | Goodreads

Book Description:

A seaside party at a Cornish mansion with plenty of fizz, what could be more perfect? But something fishy is afoot… a killer lurks among the guests, and only Cressida Fawcett can stop them.

When Cressida Fawcett is invited to stay at Penbeagle House on the Cornish coast for a fancy-dress ball, she is looking forward to sipping rum cocktails clad as a pirate, watching the red-sailed boats go by and relaxing in the sea air with her good friend Dotty. But before they can raise their glasses to toast Cressida’s former flame Lord Canterbury’s engagement, he drops dead in front of the horrified guests.

The local doctor determines that Lord Canterbury was poisoned, and soon Detective Chief Inspector Andrews is on his way from Scotland Yard. But Cressida is dismayed by the murder of the intrepid explorer who once asked for her hand in marriage, and she cannot simply leave the case to the police. Together with Dotty and her little pug Ruby, Cressida searches for clues only to discover that many of the guests have a motive for murder. Did an irate journalist or a bitter fellow explorer send Lord Canterbury on his untimely final journey?

And when a young maid is found dead, floating in the shimmering waters of the cove, Cressida knows time is running out to catch the killer. Could aclue hidden among some rather pungent crab sandwiches help her solve the case before there is another murder?

A witty and totally addictive cozy mystery packed with intrigue and glamour. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

My Review

Cressy and her pug Ruby too are back and as with any good cozy, she is at the right or maybe it is the wrong place, where another murder happens.  This time it is poison.  She consults with her friend Dotty and works with Chief Inspector Andrews much to his chagrin, as she works to solve the murder.  I love the carefree fun that is represented in the time between the wars.  For the rich of course.

There are great characters.  I love that the historical era jumps off the page.  The little bit of humor with the mystery was entertaining.  A nice break from my gritty crime and thriller reads.  Fans of cozy historical novels should give this series a try.

Author Bio:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

Social Media: Instagram | Twitter

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Fliss Chester here: https://www.bookouture.com/fliss-chester

Sharing is caring!