Blog Tour Review, Close Her Eyes

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

Close Her Eyes
Lisa Regan

389 pages
Bookouture
published May 3, 2023

AmazonApple | KoboGoogle

About the book:

The young woman lay among the rocks next to the creek like a broken doll, strands of her long dark hair covering her face. Her body was the kind of cold that only the dead can be…

A body lies beside Kettlewell Creek, the waters rushing and churning next to her broken form. When Detective Josie Quinn arrives at the scene, she finds few clues and a victim with no enemies. Nineteen-year-old Sharon Eddy was cherished by her beloved grandmother, who raised her, and her death shocks the Denton community where she worked at the local animal hospital.

When Josie is called to the morgue to hear the results of Sharon’s autopsy, the case takes a sinister turn. She is horrified to see that a mark has been burned on to Sharon’s left hip with a cattle brand: a horseshoe shot through with an arrow. Shaken and terrified, the usually cool and collected Medical Examiner Anya Feist lifts her own top to show Josie an identical mark. Ten years ago, Anya fled her hometown after her marriage to her high school sweetheart ended in terror.

But Josie can find nothing to connect Anya’s ex-husband Vance Hadlee to the murder. Her search of his family farm leads to more questions than answers.

Then another body is found. A young woman in a red coat, lying in her final resting place, her hip bearing the same tell-tale horseshoe mark. As Josie gets closer to finding the truth, the killer creeps ever closer to home, threatening the lives of those Josie loves the most. Can she put together the pieces of this terrifying puzzle before it’s too late?

A completely unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Gripping, page-turning and guaranteed to keep you up all night, it’s perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine

My Review

This is one of my favorite crime series.  The characters are like old friends that I get to catch back up with, with each new book.  There is always a balance of work and home for the detectives in the books so that we may get to know the characters.  In addition to the team, Josie’s twin sister Trinity, is drawn into this story with her own investigation.  I always like when the stakes are upped, and the case is personal, and we get that in this installment.  Dr. Feist is the medical examiner and we find out she has a connection to the case.

Since this is book 17, I’d like to add this can be read as a standalone.  The author does a good job of filling in any details from previous books that you need to know.  But I love the character development in this series and think the building from book to book adds a lot to the read.

The story is fast paced and kept me on my toes with a lot of suspects.  There are some potential trigger warnings and the author uses sensitivity when dealing with them.  As usual, I loved following along as the team races to solve the case and seeing if I can take the same clues and get there first.  As a side note, I rarely do.

I think long time series readers along with new to the series readers will enjoy this one.  It’s another great installment in the Josie Quinn series.

Author Bio:

Lisa Regan is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Detective Josie Quinn series. Lisa is a member of Sisters In Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the U.S. with her husband, daughter, and Boston Terrier named Mr. Phillip. Find out more at her website: www.lisaregan.com

 

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook | Twitter | WebsiteGoodreads

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/lisa-regan

 

Sharing is caring!