Blog Tour Review: Buried for Good

posted in: blog tour, Sherry | 0

 

 

 

 

 

Buried For Good

On a remote island, everyone is a suspect…

When Private Investigator Hanlon is hired to protect famous yoga instructor Camille Anderson on her Scottish island retreat, she thinks this may be her simplest job yet.

But when an attack on Camille’s life goes wrong, it soon becomes clear that there is a murderer on the island – and Hanlon will stop at nothing to track them down.

With only a small group of guests the suspects are clear, but as the body count rises Hanlon must step up to find out who the killer is before it’s too late…

A tense, atmospheric page-turner from Alex Coombs. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Lisa Regan.

Purchase Link – Amazon

My Review

Hanlon is ex-police and a loner.  She’s hired to protect a yoga influencer from a supposed threat. This quasi locked island mystery reminded me a little of Ten Little Indians as I read the first third of the book.  Not sure if it was a happy coincidence or an homage to Christie. 

What I liked is you’ll never guess the ending,  I had feelings for a suspect really early on and I’ll admit I was right,  but I really can’t brag about it since I pretty much left that thought and suspected almost every character in the book and only truly ruled them out when they were offed.  

I also liked that there is a secondary plot of fraud where you spend the book trying to decide if it is part of the murders or not. No spoilers from me.  I loved the description of the surroundings and I wish I could live somewhere that the view out my window was as great as everywhere Hanlon seemed to visit.

The story is complex but comes across as simple.  There is a lot of misdirection and twists to keep you guessing and I was engrossed in the book from start to finish and finished in just a couple of days.  You should pick this one up if you like mysteries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author Bio –

Alex Coombs studied Arabic at Oxford and Edinburgh Universities and went on to work in adult education and then retrained to be a chef. He is the author of the highly acclaimed DCI Hanlon series.

 

Social Media Links –

Newsletter sign up

Website

Twitter

Facebook 

 

 

Sharing is caring!